About the South Central Regional Bahá’í Council

The Regional Bahá’í Council of the Central States is responsible for Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. The ten Regional Bahá’í Councils in the contiguous 48 United States are elected institutions that operate as arms of the National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’ís of the United States. They coordinate regional efforts to expand Bahá’í outreach to the wider community; analyze approaches to carry out current plans for the growth of Bahá’í service programs for children, youth and adults; implement strategies to help clusters of communities move through stages of growth; and promote neighborhood capacity building, learning, and service.

Establishment of Regional Bahá’í Councils

On May 30, 1997 the Universal House of Justice called into being Regional Councils or Regional Teaching and Administrative Committees to meet the expanding needs of the Faith in some countries.  The House of Justice states:

“[Regional Bahá’í Councils]… provide a means of carrying forward the teaching work and administering related affairs of a rapidly growing Bahá’í community in a number of situations.”

Functions of Regional Bahá’í Councils

According to the Universal House of Justice, “Regional Bahá’í Councils are not necessarily established universally throughout a country, but rather in those regions where the conditions and size of the Bahá’í community indicate that such a development would beneficial.”

The main functions of the council are to maintain the smooth and effective execution of the global plans, regularly communicated with the NSA, assist the teaching work, and help with administrative matters.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you!

Start typing and press Enter to search